Home > reviews > Blogsy – Is this the next generation of blogging app at last?

Blogsy – Is this the next generation of blogging app at last?

From the lack of recent posts on this blog you can see that I have got off to a very slow start to say the least!

This is in some part due to the lack of decent blogging apps available for iOS devices. As described in my about page, I am trying to run, update and manage my blog entirely from my iPad (first generation) and iPhone 4.

After a start with the free offering from WordPress that was so unsuccessful due to the fact it crashed so many times it was practically unusable. Then I moved on and ponied up for Blogpress which was more stable but I just didn’t like the constant fight I had with it regarding images etc.

So on I have moved to Blogsy

This is my first post using the app and I will one again try to keep the posts flowing along with a number of updates to this review.So far so good, the website offers a few short and concise tutorial videos to get you going, all very easy if you are a seasoned blogger. But, if like me you are more used to reading than blogging they should prove very helpful.

The app is on offer for £1.79 ($2.99) due to the fact that it is still an early release with a. Few bugs to be ironed out. From what I can tell the developers have been very busy on the blogs and have actively been responding to a number of the comments left by readers, regarding bugs and possible enhancements. Long may this continue as feedback is a very important part of any app development and can mean make or break. Oh, also the devs commented that there is still no upload from a local picture library but this is on the way.

Please feel free to leave comments regarding your experiences good and bad about the app.

UPDATE:
Well I have been using it for a couple of days now and I have to say it is pretty good. this is of course compared to the poor competition. It has crashed a number of times as reported by other users but as per the devs comments when the app restarts all is not lost.
In fact I would go so far as to say it is probably easier to use for a simple post that the actual website, of course it does have its limits though. I had to log into the WP website a number of times to set things up, most of which were me playing with the option ion the website though, When it comes to adding images the app is probably easier as there is no messing around with uploads and a side bar can be used to drag and drop. More to follow…….

Categories: reviews
  1. May 6, 2011 at 9:39 am

    Hello, I’m Lance, one of the guys behind Blogsy.

    Thanks so much for writing about Blogsy. We know it is not perfect but we are working hard on making it so.

    Since version 1.0.2 no one has reported a problem with crashing. It is frustrating to hear that even with version 1.0.2 you had some crashes. Do you think you could send us the crash reports so we can get this figured out and make Blogsy amazingly stable? http://aplus.rs/apple/how-to-find-crash-logs-for-iphone-applications-on-mac-vista-and-xp/

    Again, thank you for taking the time to write about Blogsy.

    Cheers,
    Lance

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

