Home > Opinion > Why the iPad will win the tablet war

Why the iPad will win the tablet war

Many a weighty tome has been written over the current tablet war, enough to keep up you going for hours should you wish. Being something of a (massive) Apple fan there was only going to be a single choice for me. Apart from the fact that there was practically no other tablet avaialbe when I bought my iPad.

Even if the iPad was number two in the market it would have still been Apple for me because well, I’m biased.

However, after reading all the tablet news at length I am sure there are a number of passable alternatives to the iPad. Note the term ‘passable alternatives’, I am using this phrase after witnessing first hand the main reason the iPad will win. While watching TV last night with my wife, she was learning what Lady Gaga was all about on Radio 1’s one big weekend ( She swears she has never send her before), my wife decided that it might be a good idea to go to an impending fancy dress party as said Lady Gaga. I hate fancy dress parties but that is another story. So, she decided to research some outfit ideas. Rather than walking to the other room away from the TV, I suggested she use my iPad. It quickly dawned on me however that she had never used and iOS device before, surenshenis pretty fluent as a user on the family iMac but iOS.

I started her off in mobile Safari and that was it, it was actually quite eye opening to witness. Sure, when a new piece of iOS software is released or you try out the latest app released you quickly find your away round it. That’s because you are used to the iOS system. Or so I thought. My wife actually found using the iPad so easy she was adding bookmarks, opening new windows, scrolling and pinching like she had been doing it for years. No wonder there are so many reports of children using the iPad, it really is child’s play.

Contrast this with my first time on an Android device. Now I consider my self pretty well versed in finding myself around a new system. Heavy Mac and iOS usage along with an a MCSE sees me having been well exposed over the years. But Android, I dismay. I first tried out Samsung Galaxy Tab shortly after it was launched, the damn thing is just so user unfriendly. The things are just not ordered in a logical way, trying to find some of the basic settings saw me several menus deep and completely in the wrong place. Ok, coming from an iOS device I was expecting something impressive, it needs to be to tempt the Apple followers, after 5 minutes I had to put it down for fear of smashing the thing up and incurring the wrath of the spotty sales people. Steve Jobs it would seem is rarely wrong – “it just works”.

Categories: Opinion Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

